Places to look in Patiala

In popular culture, the city remains famous for its traditional PatialaShahi turban (a type of headgear), paranda (a tasselled tag for braiding hair), patiala salwar (a type of female trousers), jutti (a type of footwear) and Patiala peg (a measure of liquor).

About :

Patiala state was established in 1763 by Baba Ala Singh, who laid the foundation of the Patiala fort known as Qila Mubarak, around ‘which the present city of Patiala is built. After the Third Battle of Panipat in 1761 in which the Marathas were defeated by the Afghans, the writ of the Afghans prevailed throughout Punjab. It is at this stage that the rulers of Patiala began to acquire ensigns of royalty. The Patiala state saw more than forty years of ceaseless power struggle with the Afghan Durrani Empire, Maratha Empire and the Sikh Empire of Lahore. In 1808, the Raja of Patiala entered into a treaty with the British against Mair Rajput ruler Maharaja Ranjit Singh of Lahore in 1808, thus becoming collaborator in the grand empire building process by the British in, the sub-continent of India. Patiala became a 17-guns salute state during the British Raj. The rulers of Patiala such as Karam Singh, Narinder Singh, Mahendra Singh, Rajinder Singh, Bhupinder Singh and Yadvindra Singh were treated with respect and dignity by the British.

The Darshani Gate (the main gate of the Qila Mubarak), built in the 18th century. The city was built around the fort. The city of Patiala was designed and developed according to a plan akin to that of temple architecture, the first settlers of Patiala were the Hindus of Sirhind, who opened their business establishments outside the Darshani Gate.[

The royal house is now headed by Captain Amarinder Singh who is also the current Chief Minister of Punjab. The royals are considered cultural and political icons in east Punjab.

Maharaja Karam Singh who ruled from 1813 to 1845 (the Sikh Kingdom of Patiala in Punjab) joined the British East India Company and helped the British during the First Anglo Sikh wars against the Sikh Empire of Maharajah Ranjit Singh of Punjab which was larger and extended from Tibet Kashmir, plains of Punjab to Peshawar near the Afghan borders.

Gurudwara Dukh Nivaran Sahib ji

According to local tradition, supported by an old handwritten document preserved in the Gurdwara Sahib ji , one Bhag Ram, a jhivar of Lehal, waited upon 9th Guru of Sikhs Guru Tegh Bahadur Sahib ji during his sojourn at Saifabad (now Bahadurgarh), and made the request that he might be pleased to visit and bless his village so that its inhabitants could be rid of a serious and mysterious sickness which had been their bane for a long time. The Guru visited Lehal on Magh sudi 5, 1728 Bikram/24 January 1672 and stayed under a banyan tree by the side of a pond. The sickness in the village subsided. The site where Guru Tegh Bahadur JI had sat came to be known as Dukh Nivaran, literally meaning eradicator of suffering. Devotees have faith in the healing qualities of water in the sarovar attached to the shrine. It is still believed that any kind of illness can be cured by ‘ishnaan’ on 5 consecutive panchmi. It is in the vicinity of Patiala Bus Station.

Gurdwara Dukhniwaran Sahib Ji ,Patiala

Baradari Gardens

Totally soaked in history ,this palace offers you a dig at the historic times.charming interiors adds up to your experience.went for lunch and sat till evening.ried indian cuisine and it was delicious.courtyard sitout is a must incase you are a coffee lover

The Baradari Gardens, the garden with 12 gates, are in the north of old Patiala city, just outside Sheranwala Gate. The garden complex, set up during the reign of Maharaja Rajindera Singh, has extensive vegetation of rare trees, shrubs, and flowers dotted with impressive Colonial buildings and a marble statue of Maharaja Rajindera Singh. It was built as a royal residence with a cricket stadium, a skating rink and a small palace set in its heart named Rajindera Kothi. The gardens include a museum building with collections of Maharaja Ranjeet Singh

After extensive restoration it opened as a heritage hotel run by Neemrana Hotels group in 2009. It is Punjab’s first heritage hotel. It is near Press Club Patiala. Press Club Patiala was established in 2006 and now headed by Parveen Komal, president.

Sheesh Mahal

A part of the Old Moti Bagh Palace built in the 19th century by the Maharajas is the famous Sheesh Mahal, literally meaning the Palace of Mirrors. The mahal contains a large number of frescoes, most of which were made under His Highness Maharaja Narinder Singh. A lake in front of the palace adds to the beauty. Lakshman Jhula, a bridge built across the lake, is a famous attraction. A museum housing the largest collection of medals from the world collected by His Highness Maharaja Bhupinder Singh is here.

Currently the museum along with the main building is closed for public viewing because of renovation. However, tourists can access the surroundings of the Mahal along with the Lakshman Jhula.

Sheesh Mahal ,Patiala

Qila Mubarak Complex

Quila Mubarak was first built as a ‘Kachigarhi’ (Mud fortress) by Sidhu Jat ruler Baba Ala Singh in 1763,[who was the founder of the Patiala dynasty. Later, it was reconstructed in baked bricks. The interior portion of Quila, which is known as Quila Androon is built by Maharaja Amar Singh.

The residential palace of Royal family of Patiala, Qila Mubarak complex is built in 10-acre (40,000 m2) ground in the heart of the city. The whole complex contains Ran Baas (Guest house) and the Darbar Hall (Divan Khana)  besides Quila Androon. There is also underground sewerage system in the Quila.[

Quila Androon has 13 royal chambers with scenes from Hindu mythology painted in the Patiala art style.[

The Darbar Hall contains rare cannons, swords, shields and maces, daggers of Guru Gobind Singh JI, and sword of Nadir Shah.

Darbar Hall & Museum

The Darbar Hall contains rare cannons, swords, shields and maces, daggers of Guru Gobind Singh JI, and sword of Nadir Shah.

Kali Mata Temple

Shri Kali Devi Temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to Maa Kaali. The temple was built by the Sikh ruler of the Patiala State, Maharaja Bhupinder Singh, who financed the building of the temple in his capital and oversaw its installation in 1936. Legend has it that the Maharajah built the temple to protect the city from flooding and performed annual sacrifice at the temple.. Bhupinder Singh ruled the princely state of Patiala from 1900 to 1938. He brought the 6-ft statue of Divine Mother Kali and Paawan Jyoti from Bengal to Patiala and offered the first Bali (sacrifice) of a water buffalo to the temple. Because of the templeโ€™s beautiful structure, it has been declared a national monument. This large complex attracts devotees, Hindu and Sikh, from distant places. A much older temple of Raj Rajeshwari is also situated in the centre of this complex. The temple is situated opposite the Baradari garden at Mall Road. Devotees offer mustard oil, daal (lentils), sweets, coconuts, bangles and chunnis, goats, hens and liquor to the Divine Mother here. As an average estimate, devotees offer more than 60,000 liquor bottles during Navratras alone, which goes into a ‘Sharab Kund’ built on the temple


National Institute of sports

Founded in 1961, Netaji Subhas National Institute of Sports (NIS) is Asia’s largest sports institute in princely city of Patiala. The institute was renamed as Netaji Subhas National Institute of Sports in January 1973.

Netaji Subhash National Institute of Sports (NSNIS), Patiala

NIS is housed in the Old Moti Bagh palace of erstwhile royal family of Patiala, which was purchased by government of India after Indian Independence. Today, several sport memorabilia, like a hass (doughnut shaped exercise disc), weighing 95 kg, used by the Great Gama for squats, Major Dhyan Chand’s gold medal, from 1928 Amsterdam Olympics, and PT Usha 1986 Seoul Asiad shoes, are housed at the National Institute of Sports Museum

Qila Bahadurgarh

The Bahadurgarh Fort is 6 kilometres away from Patiala city. It is situated on the Patiala-Chandigarh road. The fort was constructed by mughal Nawab Saif Khan in 1658 A.D where Guru Teg Bahadur JI visited him and later renovated by a Sikh ruler Maharaja Karam Singh in 1837. The construction of the entire fort was completed in eight years. A sum of ten lakh rupees was spent on its construction. It covers an area of 2 km2. The fort is enclosed within two rounded walls and a moat. The circumference of the fort is slightly over two kilometres.[

The name Bahadurgarh fort was given by Maharaja Karam Singh as a tribute to the Sikh Guru Teg Bahadur who stayed here for three months and nine days before leaving for Delhi where he was executed by Aurangzeb in 1675 CE.[ The fort consists of a historical Gurdwara Sahib (a Sikh temple) named Gurdwara Sahib Patshai Nauvin.This Gurudwara shows fine Sikh architecture. This gurudwara is controlled by the Shiromini Gurdwara Prabhandak Committee. People visit this gurdwara on the occasion of the festival of Baisakhi on 13 April, every year

Deer Park

Its a small sized zoo with a number of varieties of deers and lots of monkeys every where. just at the outskirts of the city away from crowd its a good place for spending some time. some other verities of animals and beautiful birds are also there to greet the visitors.

Must read about : Heritage Walk

3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *